Ready, Set, Test - The New High School Equivalency Exam is Here

New York State has chosen the General Educational Development Test (GED® Test) for the high school equivalency (HSE) exam beginning January 2022. The GED Test is produced by GED Testing Service (GEDTS) for national use. Starting in January 2022, individuals in New York State who are seeking a High School Equivalency Diploma will no longer take the TASC Test™ but will instead take the GED Test. New York State continues to pay the cost of testing for residents who are age eligible. Register online to obtain a GED account. Scheduling the GED for computer-based testing can also be completed online. To register and schedule, please go to: GED homepage

The Exam

The GED Test includes four sections:

  • Reasoning Through Language Arts (RLA*)
  • Mathematical Reasoning
  • Science
  • Social Studies

*The RLA includes reading and writing subject tests. If only the reading or the writing was previously passed, by taking the GED (2002-2013) or the TASC Test, the RLA must be taken in full. For additional information regarding the format of the GED, please see GED homepage

Preparing for the GED® Test

The GED® Test takes approximately 7.5 hours to complete, inclusive of all four subject tests. If a subject test is failed, a test taker may retake that subject test after 60 days. Subject tests cannot be taken more than three times in a calendar year. Passing subject tests may not be retaken for a higher score.

Statistics indicate that individuals who have participated in test preparation programs are more likely to pass an HSE exam. Adult education preparation programs are listed within the GED Registration and Scheduling system, and can be found at: GED homepage