School Renewal Instructions
The application for renewal of a license should be submitted at least 120 days prior to the expiration date of the current license and must be accompanied by the appropriate fee and financial statement. Schools who admit ability to benefit students and do not have an approved counseling plan must submit one. Upon receipt of a complete and timely application, the school will either receive a license or a letter explaining the reasons for denial of a renewal license within 30 days prior to the expiration date of the current license.
All the information requested on the "Renewal Application for a License To Operate a Private Career School in New York State", must be supplied in order for the application to be considered complete.
The following items must be attached to the application when it is submitted:
- NON-REFUNDABLE, NON-TRANSFERABLE CHECK OR MONEY ORDER. The check or money order must be made payable to New York State Education Department, for the appropriate fee, and mailed to: New York State Education Department, Bureau of Fiscal Management, P.O. Box 7346, Albany, NY 12224. Failure to mail the application directly to the Bureau of Fiscal Management will delay the processing of the application.
The renewal fee is based on the annual gross tuition. The appropriate financial statement must be used to verify the annual gross tuition. Please refer to item 15 for a definition of annual gross tuition. Use the following fee scale to determine the fee to be paid.
Fee Scale to Determine the Fee to be Paid Annual Gross Tuition Application Fee $0 - $199,999 $750 $200,000 - $499,999 $1,500 $500,000 - $999,999 $2,225 $1,000,000 - $4,999,999 $4,500 $5,000,000 - $9,999,999 $9,000 $10,000,000 or above $18,000
- COMPLETE FINANCIAL STATEMENT. Please refer to Education Law Section 5001(4)(a) and Commissioner's Regulations, Section 126.8(b)(3) which will identify the type of financial statement your school is required to submit. The financial statement must be based on the most recent fiscal year end prior to a school's application for a license renewal. In addition, the financial statement must include an itemized account of tuition refunds due and owing to past or presently enrolled students.
- COUNSELING PLAN. Schools who admit ability to benefit students (students who do not possess a high school diploma or GED®) must submit a counseling plan if one is not already approved.
- QUARTERS APPROVAL. Schools are required to have their facilities approved every second renewal of a license. Please attach to the school renewal application a copy of the Certificate of Occupancy, most recent fire inspection, and, where required, most recent health inspection.
Basic Application Instructions
- Public School District. This is the specific name and number of the school district in which the school is located. If you are unsure, contact the local board of education where school is located.
- Federal ID Number. This is the 9-digit number you received from the Internal Revenue Service to do business with the Government.
- School Name. The name of the school must be exactly as the name which was approved and which appears on the license.
- School Address. The address of the school must be the same address which was approved and which appears on the Approval for Quarters.
- Is School Handicapped Accessible? Refer to American National Standards Institute (ANSI), Al17.1 (dated 1986).
- Director's Name. Enter the name of the person who serves as director of the school and who holds a valid director's permit or license.
- Telephone. Enter the business telephone number of the school.
- E-mail Address. Enter the e-mail address of the school.
- Contact Person. If the name of the person who will be completing the application is not the same as the owner or director, enter the name and address of that person in this space. If there is no entry for this item, enter "n/a."
- Telephone and e-mail address. Enter the telephone number and e-mail address of the contact person.
- Type of Ownership of School. Indicate the type of owner of the school; proprietorship, partnership, for profit corporation or not for profit corporation.
- Name of Owner or Corporation. Enter the name and address of the proprietorship, partnership, for profit corporation, or not for profit corporation. Notes: If a partnership or corporation enter, as date of birth, the date that the owning entity was formed. If sole proprietor, please enter the owner's date of birth. Sole proprietors are not required to complete item #17, however, they must complete item #18.
- Present License Number. Enter the exact number which appears on the license.
- Expiration Date. Enter the date the license will expire.
- Gross Annual Tuition. State the school's annual gross tuition. Gross tuition is defined as tuition income earned by the school plus refunds, less any tuition discounts in which the school does not receive any revenue to offset the cost of the tuition discount. Gross Tuition includes income from all sources including the student, lending institutions, federal agencies, state agencies, any other entity or organization, and certain tuition discounts. Tuition discounts are treated as gross tuition when a school receives revenue (e.g., endowment fund) from another source for the purpose of setting up a tuition discount. Gross tuition should not include income from clinic fees, registration fees, the sale of books, supplies, services, kits, uniforms, equipment or scholarships and grant programs which are approved pursuant to Section 126.2(d) of the Commissioner's Regulations.
- Name of Accrediting Agency. If the school is a member of an accrediting agency, the accrediting agency's name should be entered.
- Officers, Partners, or Principal Stockholders. If the owner is a partnership, the names of all partners and their dates of birth must appear on the application. If the owner is a privately held corporation, the names of shareholders and the date of birth of each shareholder must be listed. If the owner is a publicly held corporation, the names of all shareholders holding more than 5% of all common stock must be listed along with their dates of birth. Both privately and publicly held corporations must list all corporate officers.
- Affiliation with Another School. The owner, each partner or shareholder whose name appears on the application must answer whether he/she has ever been affiliated with or owned another private career school. If yes, full details of such association, including the name and address of the school, any fiscal disallowances, fines, or any other disciplinary action against you or the school by any local, state or federal authorities must be provided on a separate sheet.
- Disclosure for Licensure. The applicant must state whether he/she, or any corporation, partnership, association, or organization, or person holding an ownership or controlling interest in the school, or any employee responsible in a supervisory capacity for the administration of student funds or government funds has been convicted of a crime.
Signature of Director. The original signature of the person whose name appears in item 6 must appear here.
Signature of Owner. The original signature of the person whose name appears in item 12 must appear here. Sole proprietors must sign the application for themselves. All partners of a partnership must sign the application. The president of the corporation must sign for the corporation.
Owner's Affidavit. The original signature of the owner must be notarized.